The Workhouse

Figart, Dunfanaghy, Co Donegal

Tel 00 353 7491 36540


Home Wee Hannah The Workhouse Sheephaven History

The Workhouse

The Workhouse was originally opened in 1845 and closed in 1922.  It lay vacant for a long time but was re-opened in 1995 as a heritage centre.

It has been run since then by a Voluntary Board of Management as a not for profit charitable organisation.

Life in the Workhouse is explained on an audio tape and supported by a model of the original Workhouse and story boards explaining the rules, the diet and the hard life of the paupers living there.  It is a fascinating insight into rural Ireland in the 1800’s.